City of Fredericton

Home / City Government / Council & Committees / Mayor and Council

Print Share Social Media

Mayor and Council

The City of Fredericton is governed by a City Council consisting of a mayor, nominated and elected at large, and 12 city councillors, nominated and elected by ward. The mayor and city councillors serve for a four-year term, with municipal elections being held on the second Monday in May during the year set aside for municipal elections by the Province of New Brunswick.

City Council is responsible for conducting the business of municipal government. This is done through a variety of meetings, including regular Council meetings, Council-in-Committee meetings, Standing Committee meetings, and other committee and board meetings.

A number of municipal bylaws are in place to govern the work of the City of Fredericton. The municipality must also be aware of the Province of New Brunswick's Municipalities Act, Community Planning Act, and Official Languages Act. The City's budget is based on a calendar year. City Council approves an annual capital and operating budget for both the General Fund and the Water and Sewer Utility.

© City of Fredericton. All rights reserved. Website Disclaimer | Site Map

W3C CompliantDesigned and Hosted by eSolutions Group