City of Fredericton
 

RELATED CONTENT

Census 2011

Fredericton’s population grows according to 2011 Census

Census 2011 logoFredericton (February 8, 2012) – Numbers released today as part of the 2011 Census results show that the population of the City of Fredericton has grown by 11.3% to 56,224 people.  This is up from 50,355 recorded during the last census in 2006.

The Fredericton region, or Census Agglomeration (CA) as it is recorded in the census, has grown by 9.3% for a total population of 94,268.  In 2006, the total population for the region was 86,226.

“This is good news for the Fredericton and the surrounding area,” said Mayor Brad Woodside.  “We are the fastest growing city of the three major cities in New Brunswick and growth in the Fredericton region is the second highest in the province.”

According to the census, Saint John and Moncton each experienced positive municipal and regional growth.  Moncton has the fastest growing region in the province.  Dieppe was the fastest growing city in New Brunswick.  All other New Brunswick cities experienced a decline in population, except for Campbellton which remained the same.

“We will certainly be examining the numbers further, but I think our growth can be attributed to our knowledge-based economy, our growing retail sector and our strong development and construction activity in recent years,” said Mayor Woodside.

-30-

Media Contact:  Wayne Knorr, Communications Manager, City of Fredericton, 506-460-2181

© City of Fredericton. All rights reserved. Website Disclaimer | Site Map

W3C CompliantDesigned and Hosted by eSolutions Group

City of Fredericton
 

CONTENU CONNEXE

Recensement 2011

Croissance de la population à Fredericton selon le Recensement 2011

Logo du rencensement 2011Fredericton (8 février 2012) — Les chiffres publiés aujourd’hui à la suite du Recensement 2011 portent la population de Fredericton à 56 224 résidents (50 355 au recensement de 2006), soit une croissance démographique de 11,3 %.

Pour la région de Fredericton, ou agglomération de recensement selon les termes du recensement, la croissance a été de 9,3 % pour une population totale de 94 268, alors qu’elle était de 86 226 en 2006.

« C’est une bonne nouvelle pour Fredericton et la région, commente le maire Brad Woodside. Fredericton est celle des trois principales villes du Nouveau-Brunswick qui connaît la plus forte croissance et la croissance de la région vient au deuxième rang. »

Selon le recensement, Saint John et Moncton ont aussi enregistré une croissance municipale et régionale. C’est la région de Moncton qui a la croissance la plus rapide de la province. Dieppe est la ville qui croît le plus rapidement au Nouveau-Brunswick. Toutes les autres villes du Nouveau-Brunswick ont connu un déclin démographique, sauf Campbellton où la population se maintient.

« Nous allons examiner ces chiffres davantage, mais je pense que notre croissance est attribuable à notre économie du savoir, au développement de notre secteur de la vente au détail et à la forte activité de construction et d’aménagement des récentes années », ajoute le maire Woodside.

-30-

Personne-ressource : Wayne Knorr, gestionnaire des communications, Ville de Fredericton, 506-460-2181

© Ville de Fredericton. Tous droits réservés. Avis de non-responsabilité | Plan du site

W3C CompliantDesigned and Hosted by eSolutions Group