Local Governance Reform

The Government of New Brunswick is undertaking a reform of local governance that will result in 77 local governments and 12 rural districts. In Fredericton, the reform will create a shift in the city’s boundaries and result in approximately 4,500 people becoming residents of Fredericton. Information is available on the Province’s Local Governance Reform (LGR) website.

The Province’s reform process is still unfolding and details regarding specific impacts are still forthcoming. We’ve included the information we do have in the FAQs below which we will update regularly as we learn more about specific impacts.

The Province released the new municipal boundary maps on March 30, 2022. If you’d like to see whether you joined the City when the LGR is implemented in 2023, simply click the link below. 

New Municipal Boundaries Map


Frequently Asked Questions