City Council & Committees

Governing an institution as diverse, broad, and complicated as a city takes the cooperation of a number of elected and appointed people, in various roles.

City Council is the main legislative and governing body of the City of Fredericton. City Council is made up of a mayor, representing the city as a whole, and 12 councillors, each representing one of the city’s 12 individual wards.

Council governs the city through regular council meetings, council-in-committee meetings, standing committee meetings, and other committee and board meetings.

The purpose of committees is to study specific issues before bringing them to a meeting of Council for consideration.  Councillors also sit on various boards, committees and commissions.