Fredericton / City Hall / City council / Committees

Joint Land Development Committee

The City and the Fredericton Exhibition Ltd. have jointly appointed members to the Joint Land Development Committee.

The committee, which will be tasked with the creation and execution of a Site Development Plan for the exhibition grounds on Smythe Street, will consist of ten volunteers, including two members of City Council, two members of the Board of Directors of Fredericton Exhibition, Ltd., four community representatives, and two senior staff members from the NBEX and City of Fredericton.

It was announced on February 25, 2019 that the NBEX and the City of Fredericton would be entering into a new era of collaboration with the signing of a Letter of Intent to cement their commitment to working as equal partners in the future development of the NBEX site.

That announcement identified that a joint Land Development Committee would be established with the goal of exploring development options for the site.  The call for interested city residents to fill vacancies on the committee was issued April 15, 2019.  The committee appointments were finalized in July 2019.

Member Information

Andrew Steeves, Committee Chair.  A retired Vice President with ADI Group, Mr. Steeves is an engineering consultant and an active community volunteer, who has served as past chair of the Fredericton Airport, Chamber of Commerce, Enterprise Fredericton, and the Association of Consulting Engineers of Consulting Engineers of NB.

Sophia Petrovich.  Ms. Petrovich has a Masters degree in archaeology from the University of Texas at Austin, with experience in mapping, writing, research, data analysis, and project management.  She is currently enrolled at the New Brunswick College of Craft and Design and is an active mom in the community.

Shawn Bilerman.  Mr. Bilerman is a local developer and owner of J.B. Real Estate Ltd. He is the Executive Officer of the New Brunswick Apartment Owners Association and was past president of the Fredericton Apartment Owners Association. He has taken business courses at UNB. He has a passion for sailing and was the Commander of the Fredericton Power & Sail Squadron.

Trevor Hanson.  Mr. Hanson is an Associate Professor in the UNB Department of Civil Engineering, where he also earned his PhD in Civil Engineering.  He has expertise in the areas of transportation planning with a focus on rural and age-friendly solutions and is involved with a number of national and international committees on transportation research.

Jeff Melanson.  Mr. Melanson is president of the NBEX board of directors, as well as chair of Oromocto Pioneer Days. He is general manager of All World Moving and East Coast Moving Group of Companies. He has 30 years of experience in the music entertainment and production industry.

Sara Townsend. Ms. Townsend is serving in her second term as a board member of the Fredericton Exhibition Ltd. She has worked at the Dr. Everett Chalmers Regional Hospital for over 20 years. An active mom, she enjoys working with the public and giving back to her community.

Deputy Mayor Steven Hicks.  Fredericton’s Deputy Mayor Steven Hicks is the Councillor for Ward Five (Marysville). He has 25 years of experience in the field of Criminal and Social Justice. He is a past Board Member for the Fredericton Exhibition Ltd.

Coun. Eric Price. Coun. Price is the City Councillor for Ward 4 (Main Street/North Devon).  He is an entrepreneur with a background in real estate development.  He is chair of the Fredericton’s Affordable Housing Committee, dedicated to improving access to affordable housing in the city.


Mike Vokey, NBEX CEO, Co-Chair

Jeff Trail, Deputy CAO, City of Fredericton, Co-Chair

Related Documents