Fredericton / City Hall / City council

Margo Sheppard

Councillor, Ward 1


Margo Sheppard moved to Fredericton in 1995. She is a graduate of the University of Waterloo in Ontario where she studied the Environmental Studies Program.

She began her environmental planning and conservation career in Ontario working for a non-profit stream conservation organization, progressed through two Provincial Government ministries (Transportation and Environment) where she served as a Senior Environmental Planner responsible for developing land use and municipal servicing policies, research on pollution prevention and developing Cabinet submissions.

Coun. Sheppard served as an Executive Director with the Nature Trust of New Brunswick for twenty years. Most recently, her work involved chairing a federally-funded Sustainable Forestry working group involving multiple non-government, forest industry and academic parties.

She has served as a member of the Preservation Review Board for the City of Fredericton. She is a founding director and past president of the Canadian Land Trust Alliance (now the Centre for Land Conservation), two-time director of the Fredericton Heritage Trust, a member of the Fredericton Council of Canadians and an activist on energy, climate and forestry issues.

She is founding director of two watershed associations and has served on the boards of Nature NB and other non-government organizations in New Brunswick. She is an active member in the NB Peace and Friendship Alliance.

Coun. Sheppard and her husband Larry live on unceded Wolastoqiyik territory on the banks of the Wolastoq (Saint John) River in Ward 1.  They have two children, Elizabeth and Grant.

Committee Appointments:

  • Economic Vitality Committee
  • Environmental Stewardship Committee, Vice-Chair
  • Fredericton Tree Commission, Council Representative
  • Governance & Civic Engagement
  • Livable Community Committee
  • Municipal Finance & Corporate Administration Committee
  • Preservation Review Board, Council Representative
  • Public Safety Committee
  • Riverfront Advisory Committee
  • Superannuation Administration Committee (Police & Fire- By-Law A 13)