Fredericton / City Hall / Council committees / Committees

Ad Hoc Committee on Gender Diversity

On January 13, 2020, Fredericton City Council appointed the members of the City’s Ad Hoc Committee on Gender Diversity. They include:

  • Two members of City Council recommended by the Mayor.
  • Two community members with expertise in gender issues.
  • One City of Fredericton staff person.
  • The Working Committee will choose a chair at its first meeting.
  • See the list of members below.

The mandate of the committee, which is advisory in nature, is to provide recommendations to Council on issues related to gender sensitivity and representation within Council, Council Committees, and on committees that require the approval of Council.

The committee is expected to report back with its recommendations by the end of January / beginning of February.

About the Committee Members

Coun. Kate Rogers (Ward 11, East Downtown & Plat/UNB). Kate Rogers is a graduate of UNB’s Masters program in Political Science and has built her career since then through leadership roles in arts administration, community development and policy research. Currently, Kate is the Executive Director of the Fredericton Community Foundation. In the past, she served as Executive Director of the Charlotte Street Arts Centre, Executive Director of the NB Crafts Council and Managing Director of the NB Social Policy Research Network.

Coun. Greg Ericson (Ward 8, Skyline Acres). Greg Ericson is a former business owner and entrepreneur with over 30 years of experience in the service industry as an investor, owner, operator, manager and front line service worker across more than a dozen firms. Greg is a proud graduate from UNB with a Bachelor of Arts; Honours in Philosophy and Military History in 1992, and has received a Diploma in University teaching from UNB in 2009, a Lean Six Sigma Championship certification from UNB in 2013 and Pension Trustee certification for Shared Risk Pension Board from UNB in 2014. Most recently, he has been working towards attaining a Masters of Philosophy focusing on Public Policy and Interdisciplinary Evidence Based Research and Design.

Joanne Wright is Dean of Arts and Professor of Political Science at the University of New Brunswick (Fredericton). She holds a PhD in Political Thought/Women and Politics from York University and has been teaching and researching in the field of women, gender and politics for over twenty years. In 2015, she was Frederik and Catherine Eaton Visiting Professor at Queen’s University Belfast, affiliated with the Centre for Advancement of Women in Politics. She has served as Coordinator of the Gender and Women’s Studies program at UNB; is a founding member of the President’s Bi-Campus Standing Committee on Equity, Diversity, Inclusion (EDI) and Human Rights; and will serve on the Scoping Committee to develop an EDI Task Force to create a more welcoming culture in the Faculty of Engineering at UNB. She is UNB’s Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada (SSHRC) Leader, liaising between the national funding agency and the universities on, among other things, EDI policy and practice.

Margot Cragg is the Executive Director of the Union of the Municipalities of New Brunswick (UMNB), representing sixty local governments of all sizes and both official languages. UMNB unites, represents, informs, and connects communities throughout the province. Margot has led non-profit Boards working for gender diversity and inclusion and has experience in labour relations, politics, immigrant employment, and communications. Margot Cragg is fluently bilingual and lives in Fredericton, NB.

Michele Cronin is the City of Fredericton staff representative to the committee. She is the Research Planning Specialist for Office of the Chief Administrative Officer. Michele is a twenty-five-year employee with the City of Fredericton beginning her career as the Research and Planner for the Fredericton Police Force. She has moved through several departments, including Public Safety and Corporate Strategies & Safety Services, to her recent move to the Office of the Chief Administrator. Michele holds Bachelor's degrees in Education (UNB) and Arts (STU) as well as a Masters in Education (UNB). Her current focus is on advancing the corporation through designing corporate-wide programs, processes and practices.