Mayor & Council

Council Meetings | Committees | Email City Council
Code of Conduct & Statement of Complaint

The City of Fredericton is governed by a City Council consisting of a mayor, nominated and elected at large, and 12 city councillors, nominated and elected by ward. The mayor and city councillors serve for a four-year term.

City Council is responsible for conducting the business of municipal government. This is done through a variety of meetings, including regular Council meetings, Council-in-Committee meetings, Standing Committee meetings, and other committee and board meetings.

A number of municipal bylaws are in place to govern the work of the City of Fredericton. The municipality also operates under the legislation of the Province of New Brunswick, including the Municipalities Act, Community Planning Act, Official Languages Act, and Right to Information and Protection of Privacy Act.  

The City's budget is based on a calendar year. City Council approves an annual capital and operating budget for both the General Fund and the Water and Sewer Utility.

The current City of Fredericton Council was elected on May 9, 2016 and sworn into office on May 24, 2016. The next regular Municipal Election will be held on May 10, 2021.

Kate Rogers


Cassandra Blackmore

Councillor, Ward 10

(West Downtown & Plat/Sunshine Gardens) 

Ruth Breen

Councillor, Ward 9

(Bishop Drive/Odell Park)

Kevin Darrah

Councillor, Ward 7

(Southwood Park/Lincoln)

Greg Ericson

Deputy Mayor

(Councillor, Ward 8 - Skyline Acres)

Bruce Grandy

Bruce Grandy

Councillor, Ward 3

(Nashwaaksis North)

Steven Hicks

Councillor, Ward 5


Jason LeJeune

Councillor, Ward 11

(East Downtown & Plat/UNB)

Henri Mallet

Councillor, Ward 12

(Silverwood/Garden Creek)

Eric Megarity

Councillor, Ward 6

(South Devon/Barker’s Point/Lower St. Mary’s)

Mark Peters

Councillor, Ward 2


Jocelyn Pike

Councillor, Ward 4

(Main Street/North Devon)

Margo Sheppard

Councillor, Ward 1