Photo: Left to Right. Prashamsa G.C., Task Force Secretary; Mayor Kate Rogers: Passionate Ncube, Task Force Chair.

Anti-Racism Task Force members appointed

Fredericton City Council has appointed the members of the Anti-Racism Task Force for Fredericton. The Task Force’s work is intended to provide recommendations to City Council about ways to combat systematic racism and racial discrimination in our community, with the goal of achieving a fully diverse, inclusive and equitable society.

The Task Force, which will be chaired by Passionate Ncube, who is involved with numerous international faith-based charitable organizations in the city, will also include 12 other members representing their various communities, as well as a Council liaison and a City staff liaison.

“As I said back in August of last year, this is an opportunity for the City to take a stand against discrimination and clearly state our intention to generate inclusion and improve the lives of people in our community,” said Fredericton Mayor Kate Rogers. “With the appointment of the Task Force members, I look forward to receiving the Terms of Reference and reviewing the recommendations they will put before us.”

“I am looking forward to working with this group of individuals to provide recommendations to City Council on ways to combat systemic racism in our community,” said Passionate Ncube, Chair of the Anti-Racism Task Force for Fredericton. “This is a first step in what I see as a collaborative process, where success will come from our future actions and working together.”

Members of the Task Force will serve until December 31, 2023.

Task Force Members and Community Affiliation (as of April 2022):

  • Passionate Ncube, Task Force Chair, who has been involved with numerous international faith-based charitable organizations in the community.
  • Renni Thomas, Task Force Vice-Chair, and a community stakeholder with lived experience.
  • Prashamsa G.C., Task Force Secretary, with the Capital Region Mental Health & Addictions Association, Nepali Cultural Association of New Brunswick.
  • Jenn Wambolt, who is involved with Wil-Doo Cycle Club, Cultural Inclusion and Behavior Change Network, Fredericton Active Transportation Coalition, Breaking The Silence, No One Is Illegal - Fredericton.
  • Dr. Christofer Balram, a community stakeholder with professional lived experience.
  • Derek Solomon, from Kingsclear First Nation.
  • Felix Ndayi, with the New Brunswick African Association.
  • Madhu Varma, with the Asian Heritage Society of NB and the NB Multicultural Council.
  • Sarah Rose, from St. Mary’s First Nation and with Under One Sky.
  • Yusuf Shire, with the Multicultural Association of Fredericton and the New Brunswick African Association.
  • David Olara, with the New Brunswick African Association.
  • Marilyn Kaufman, with the Atlantic Jewish Council, Center for Israel and Jewish Affairs, and Sgoolai Israel Synagogue.
  • Timothy Li, with the Chinese Cultural Association of New Brunswick.
  • Coun. Ruth Breen, will be the City Council liaison to the Task Force.
  • Graham Nickerson, community inclusion officer with the City of Fredericton’s Office of Community Inclusion will act as staff liaison to the committee.


The creation of the Anti-Racism Task Force was authorized on August 23, 2021, when Fredericton City Council voted unanimously in favour of joining UNESCO’s Coalition of Inclusive Municipalities, a network of cities committed to fostering inclusion, and to creating a social inclusion committee to oversee the development and implementation of a broader social inclusion plan and a more specific anti-racism task force.

The selection of the Task Force members followed an extensive public consultation process. Nine members were nominated by their respective communities. Following a call to the public inviting people to submit a letter of interest with their qualifications to serve on the Anti-Racism Task Force, the original group then selected five additional members to serve on the Task Force.

Additional Resource: