Newly Amalgamated Areas

In late 2021, the Government of New Brunswick announced plans to undertake a reform of local governance. This resulted in significant changes that took effect in January 2023, including the creation of 77 local governments and 12 rural districts. In Fredericton, the reform created a shift in the city’s boundaries and resulted in approximately 4,500 people becoming residents of Fredericton. Additional information is available on the Province’s Local Governance Reform (LGR) website.

The Province’s reform process is still unfolding and details regarding specific impacts are still forthcoming. We’ve included the information we do have in the FAQs below which are updated regularly as we learn more about specific impacts.

The Province released the new municipal boundary maps on March 30, 2022. If you’d like to see whether you joined the City when the LGR was implemented in 2023, simply click the link below. 

New Municipal Boundaries Map


Frequently Asked Questions