Anti-Racism Task Force

Fredericton City Council has appointed members to the Anti-Racism Task Force for Fredericton and adopted the group’s Terms of Reference.

The Task Force’s work is intended to provide recommendations to City Council about ways to combat systematic racism and racial discrimination in our community, with the goal of achieving a fully diverse, inclusive and equitable society.

The Task Force, which will be chaired by Passionate Ncube and include various members representing their respective communities, as well as a Council liaison and a City staff liaison. Members of the Task Force will serve until December 31, 2023.

Anti-Racism Task Force Members

(As of April 2022 | Name and Affiliation)

  • Passionate Ncube* - Numerous international faith-based charitable organizations
  • Jenn Wambolt* - Wil-Doo Cycle Club, Cultural Inclusion and Behavior Change Network, Fredericton Active Transportation Coalition, Breaking The Silence, No One Is Illegal - Fredericton.
  • Prashamsa G.C - Capital Region Mental Health and Addictions Association, Nepali Cultural Association of New Brunswick
  • Renni Thomas*- Community stakeholder with lived experience.
  • Madhu Varma - Asian Heritage Society of NB, NB Multicultural Council
  • Yusuf Shire - NBAA
  • Marilyn Kaufman - Atlantic Jewish Council, Center for Israel and Jewish Affairs, Sgoolai Israel Synagogue etc.
  • Timothy Li - Chinese Cultural Association of New Brunswick
  • Ernest Ndizeye**, Burundi Cultural Association
  • Christoph Heinz**, Volunteer / Teacher

*These members were selected from the public.

**These members were recruited by Task Force.

City of Fredericton, Anti-Racism Task Force, Terms of Reference (PDF)


The creation of the Anti-Racism Task Force was authorized on August 23, 2021, when Fredericton City Council voted unanimously in favour of joining UNESCO’s Coalition of Inclusive Municipalities, a network of cities committed to fostering inclusion, and to creating a social inclusion committee to oversee the development and implementation of a broader social inclusion plan and a more specific anti-racism task force.

The selection of the Task Force members followed an extensive public consultation process. Nine members were nominated by their respective communities. Following a call to the public inviting people to submit a letter of interest with their qualifications to serve on the Anti-Racism Task Force, the original group then selected five additional members to serve on the Task Force