Bill Thorpe Walking Bridge

News Releases:

About the Bill Thorpe Walking Bridge:

  • The former Fredericton Railway Bridge was constructed in 1938. It replaced the original train bridge on the site which became operational in 1889, and was heavily damaged by ice and flood waters in March 1935.
  • The final freight train crossed the bridge in March 1996. Since 1997, it has been used as a pedestrian bridge
  • In June 2008, the bridge renamed in honour of long-time trail advocate, Bill Thorpe, a former City of Fredericton Deputy Mayor and City Councillor, who was an active Fredericton Trails Coalition member and founded the Fredericton Tail System.
  • The bridge spans 607 metres. It is a through-truss design built of steel. It sits on eight concrete piers and two concrete abutments … one on each shore. 
  • It is an iconic piece of infrastructure, in the heart of the Downtown Fredericton, offering some of the best views of the city.
  • It serves as an active transportation link over the Saint John River, connecting the north and south sides of the city of Fredericton, and serving residents and visitors alike.
  • For 2016, 600,000 crossings were recorded on the bridge.

Sources include: Fredericton Railway Bridge (Wikipedia) and City of Fredericton Trail Bridge User Count.